A Tesla and a Spark

Chevy Spark EV Forum

Help Support Chevy Spark EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elpwr

Early this week I bought a Tesla to go along with my Spark EV. I had been debating on the Tesla purchase for many months: considering new and looking at used as well. A Toyota dealer near me just listed this 2013 S85 - and had it priced very aggressively. The car has 19,000 miles and is in spectacular condition.

My Tesla is certainly an amazing car, with capabilities far beyond that of the Spark EV. But I just want everyone to know that owning the Tesla has made me even more appreciative of the Spark. Many of the things we love about EV's are just as evident in the Spark as they are the Tesla.

I'm really happy to have two electric cars. I don't intend to let the Spark go - at least until late this year or early next when the Bolt should have wide availability.

WOW! Congratulations! I'm curious about battery degradation on S85. I'm also curious if Supercharger indeed taper at rapid rate like other forum comments seem to indicate. I know it's not Tesla forum here, but still curious. I just might get one myself to experiment! ;-)

Why are you keeping the Spark? Do you need a second car?

A coworker of mine has both a Spark EV and Model S. He said the same thing when he got the Model S. The big shift was going EV, and the functional differences between his Tesla and Spark were minor.

I don't really need a second car. And I don't really need the two ICE cars I also have - but I just like cars!

Most people are reporting only a modest amount of battery degradation with the Teslas. Some have 100,000 miles on them with only a little range loss. I'll be watching mine carefully. There are several superchargers within range of me here in Central Florida. I haven't used one yet but I'm anxious to see how they perform.