Spark EV charging issue - any ideas?

Chevy Spark EV Forum

Help Support Chevy Spark EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

d15b7

hey fellas. I've not had a single issue with my 2015 Spark EV in 38-1/2 months and 32,300 miles of ownership! but yesterday I had an issue with charging it and I'm out of ideas (final idea is tow it to the dealership). here's what happened: I had used it all day and arrived back home around 4pm with 38 miles of range left. I then took it out in the evening and drove another 30 miles leaving about 8 miles range (blinking orange one bar). I plugged it into the Bosch EVSE that I've been using for 3 yrs and the orange light lit up (indicating that it would do a late night deferred charge being fully charged by 6am, just as I've had it programmed for 3 yrs). I woke up this morning and went to hop in it and it hadn't charged. the charge indicator light on the dashboard was not lit at all (usually would be green light). instead it was just black. i then tried the following:

1. unplugged and replugged the EVSE. as soon as I saw the orange light come on I unplugged it and replugged it again (that tells it to charge immediately if it is programmed for deferred/late night charge). this has always worked whenever I plug it in during the day and want it to charge immediately and not wait til late night. orange light came on for about 4 secs and then nothing. just black no light and no charging.
2. I unplugged EVSE and started car (starts right up but indicating 8 miles range and blinking one orange bar). I turned off the deferred charging programming in Settings and have it on immediate charge. shut car down and plugged in EVSE and same result - orange light for 4 secs and then nothing.
3. decided maybe the Bosch EVSE might have died? took out the 110v onboard charger, plugged it in, and same exact result. orange light 4 secs then nothing.