calculating cost of electricity used

Chevy Spark EV Forum

Help Support Chevy Spark EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danev

Newbee here, considering purchasing used 2016 Spark EV. I'm no pro when it comes to electricity or math. So I have a couple questions regarding calculating electricity used and cost per mile to drive a Spark EV: :?

1. I live in Seattle where residential electricity runs about 8 cents per KwH. Assuming that the Spark battery starts at 19 KwHs, I assume that to fully charge (assuming the battery is down to zero miles when charge which I realize rarely happens) will require 19KwHs? correct? Based on that assumption, I come up with this -- 19KwH x 0.8 = $1.44 to fully charge battery. Correct?

2. If above assumptions & calculation is correct, assuming 80 miles range on a full charge cost per mile would be $0.018/mile (18 cents). Yes?

3. Can most Chevy dealerships provide an accurate estimate of remain KW of battery?

danev said:
Newbee here, considering purchasing used 2016 Spark EV. I'm no pro when it comes to electricity or math. So I have a couple questions regarding calculating electricity used and cost per mile to drive a Spark EV: :?

1. I live in Seattle where residential electricity runs about 8 cents per KwH. Assuming that the Spark battery starts at 19 KwHs, I assume that to fully charge (assuming the battery is down to zero miles when charge which I realize rarely happens) will require 19KwHs? correct? Based on that assumption, I come up with this -- 19KwH x 0.8 = $1.44 to fully charge battery. Correct?

2. If above assumptions & calculation is correct, assuming 80 miles range on a full charge cost per mile would be $0.018/mile (18 cents). Yes?

3. Can most Chevy dealerships provide an accurate estimate of remain KW of battery?