Steering rack compatibility with other PNs?

Chevy Spark EV Forum

Help Support Chevy Spark EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jlel12

Hi all,

My 2016 has developed play in the steering rack (part 95083673), which - after $450 of diagnosis - one of my local Chevy dealerships informed me is a discontinued part. This is true...but it also appears (according to fitment guides that I've been looking at) that the steering rack in the '13-'15 gas Sparks was the same as the one used in the '14-'16 EVs.

My questions:
1) Can anyone give me the OEM part number for the steering rack gear for the '13-'15 gas Sparks? Is it the same as the one I've listed above for the EV Sparks?

2) Has anyone replaced the steering gear on their Spark themselves? I got an AllData subscription at Infinion's suggestion, and this looks like a pretty substantial repair - a lot of jacks and supporting equipment required. I would love to do the repair myself (because screw this dealer), but I also don't want to have to go crawling back to them with a partially-disassembled car that I can't put back together...

Thanks, all!

Jlel12 said:
Hi all,

My 2016 has developed play in the steering rack (part 95083673), which - after $450 of diagnosis - one of my local Chevy dealerships informed me is a discontinued part. This is true...but it also appears (according to fitment guides that I've been looking at) that the steering rack in the '13-'15 gas Sparks was the same as the one used in the '14-'16 EVs.

My questions:
1) Can anyone give me the OEM part number for the steering rack gear for the '13-'15 gas Sparks? Is it the same as the one I've listed above for the EV Sparks?