My take on all the EV's I've test driven...

Chevy Spark EV Forum

Help Support Chevy Spark EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ezryder

Not that I'm an expert, or anything. But, my personal opinion...

Overall, which car would I buy right now based on price? Easy: Spark EV. If I had unlimited funds? Easy again: Tesla Model S. Of course. If I had $10k or $20k more to blow...? That gets a little harder. The Mercedes B-Drive is pretty awesome, and I think easily beats the fairly lame BMW i3. There's really no comparison, in my book. The i3 is like a golf cart. But then there's the issue of driving what looks like a station wagon, with the Mercedes... Not so great. Plus, it doesn't look or feel like an "electric car". There's nothing that says, "I'm driving the future and it's friggin' cool". no one will even know you're driving anything "special" or "different". They'll just think you're lame for driving a station wagon. Unless, of course, you have a family and need/want a station wagon. One that won't take you very far. :)

Then there's the VW e-Golf. *yaaaawwwwnnnnn* Boring. OMG boring. To look at. Decently fun to drive, but, like the Mercedes, has no "future sizzle". It's nice. It's OK. Car of the Year? I don't think so.

The Leaf... Well, this one is tough. It has the future sizzle, but in a kinda douchey way. It's TOO different. Though, it is comfortable and is a nice car for the money - for sure. It's just not that great looking and tries too hard to be different. (the lame shifter, for one)

The Fiat 500e. Well, I don't fit in it, and anyone over 6'1" probably doesn't. It's cool and nice looking. Not sure about the gauge package and I haven't driven the EV version, but I liked the ICE version; I just don't fit in it at all.